Dolphins Will Paint You a Picture in Las Vegas

Sometimes I wish I could go back in time when I was blissfully unaware of the plight of captive dolphins. I wish I did not know about the often inhumane way dolphins are treated.

I recently came across a video showing a captive bottlenose dolphin who will “paint” you a picture at the Mirage in Las Vegas. This dolphin experience is part of Siegfried and Roy’s Secret Garden and Dolphin Habitat.  The habitat was supposedly designed to “create a safe environment – an environment in which these animals could live in serenity.” Yet, for the paltry price of $199 you get a work of art created by an animal who is coerced to perform tricks for your enjoyment. It feels so wrong to force them to perform like this, all in the name of conservation and education.

Although many people will be excited to have this up-close encounter with the dolphins, it just makes me incredibly sad…

About wherethedolphinsswim

I've been vacationing with wild dolphins for more than 20 years. You can do it too!
This entry was posted in Conservation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dolphins Will Paint You a Picture in Las Vegas

  1. Deb Anthony says:

    What we find entertaining is sometimes so crazy. And to bring some of God’s most precious creatures into our insanity makes it even worse. They are so beautiful and trusting..we should be careful with the trust right? Thanks for keeping us updated.

Leave a comment