What Do Dolphins Eat? Fish They Catch With Mud!

Wow! I have never seen this before. I know dolphins are incredibly smart and have come up with all types of innovative ways to catch fish. They will strand feed (herd fish into shore and feed on the trapped fish in the shallows), cooperatively circle and hunt for fish with other members of their pod, fish-whack (stun fish by whacking them into the air with their tails), and use “tools” such as sponges to protect their snouts when digging for buried or hiding fish.

I didn’t know they had the intelligence to create mud-rings to confuse and disorient fish. Dolphins do this type of behavior in shallow waters. Using their tails, they stir up the sandy bottom and create a tight circle of murky water. The then confused fish leap out of the circle into the waiting dolphins’ mouths. So incredible!

Take a look at this video from the BBC.

Imagine how highly evolved this creature is to dream up this hunting method. Just when you think you know just about all there is to know about dolphins! So, what do dolphins eat? Fish that they outsmart!

I’ll have to keep my eye out for this unique feeding behavior during my next dolphin watching trip.

About wherethedolphinsswim

I've been vacationing with wild dolphins for more than 20 years. You can do it too!
This entry was posted in Dolphin Facts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Do Dolphins Eat? Fish They Catch With Mud!

  1. Deb Anthony says:

    that is so amazing…I cannot believe how smart they are!

  2. Reblogged this on Salt for my Soul and commented:
    I wasn’t going to post anything today, but this is well worth the reblog. I’ve seen this before, but it never ceases to amaze me.

  3. Awesome blog! I remember seeing this years ago on TV and I’ve told the story of this activity countless times. So glad to see that you had it on your page. I just reblogged it on mine. I’ve had some very profound experiences surfing amongst dolphins myself.

Leave a Reply

